Cell phones should not be given to children under the age of 13. The statement may turn true in Colorado soon. A new grassroots effort has been initiated to stop sale of the device to underage.
Mass signatures are being collected by group called Parents Against Underage Smartphones (PAUS) and it is learned about 300,000 signatures are required to get Initiative 29 on the 2018 ballot.
As per Initiative 29 the shops cannot sell smartphone to people who is not of 13 years age and also the primary owner of the device would be someone who is at least of the same ate.
Those retailers who will be found selling the device to pre-teen would be warned for the first offense and thereafter could be fined from $500-$20,000 for subsequent violations.
Anesthesiologist Dr. Timothy Farnum is the founder of PAUS. He is a Coloradoan and said after getting a cell phone the children change.
He added, “They go from being outgoing, energetic, interested in the world and happy, to reclusive, they want to spend all their time in their room, they lose interest in outside activities.”
According to Farnum, by constantly looking at mobile screens even toddler can experience speech and language difficulties.
Meanwhile, below are the guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatrics:
– Avoid use of screen media to children below 18 months. However, video chat is excluded from the norm.
– If required, the children between 18-24 months should be introduced to high-quality programming on digital media.
– Between ages 2 an 5 years the screen use should be limited to just 1 hour per day.
– Children of 6 years and above should not replace physical activity and adequate sleep time with digital media.